Winners of DFMC’s National Milk Quality Awards were announced at our AGM and convention in November. The awards, held in honour of long-serving Far North Queensland Farm Services Manager Ian Stewart, are now in their 18th year.

DFMC believes that farms providing milk of exceptional quality should be recognised as the ‘cream of the crop’. A full list of regional award winners is below. To qualify for the awards, farmers must have NOT received any demerit points for the year, must have supplied milk for the full twelve months of the 2017/18 financial year and be current members of the co-operative.

For the second year running, we congratulate Kaid and Jo Hawken from Leitchville in Northern Victoria for winning the National Milk Quality Award. Supplying three million litres of milk at a 4.41% fat and 3.53% protein with a 72,000 somatic cell count (SCC) is an exceptional effort.

Far North Queensland

  1. Laceview Pty Ltd
  2. P & VA English
  3. KF & SC Collins
  4. J & S Geraghty
  5. MB Daley Pty Ltd

South East Queensland

  1. DA & CG Vonhoff
  2. MC & JM MacDonald
  3. Crouch Farming
  4. RL & SL Skyring
  5. ME IW & WD Pukallus

New South Wales

  1. Beaulands Pty Ltd
  2. WG & AJ Sherborne
  3. Jim Strong
  4. MacArthur Stanham Holdings P/L
  5. The Gee Partnership

South Australia

  1. Jared & Megan King
  2. The Bartlett Family Trust
  3. Blinkbonnie (SA) Pty Ltd
  4. JR & JP Fisher


  1. GR & JR Hawken Pty Ltd
  2. BD & KL Mitchell
  3. JC & NT Smith
  4. Northvic Farms
  5. JH & BA Dealy

Congratulations also to suppliers from both the Northern and Southern regions who have achieved fantastic bulk milk cell count (BMCC) averages for the October/November period.


2018 milk quality awards